Welcome to The Ministry Lab's curated list of faith formation resources for Confirmation/Affirmation of Baptism. Here you'll find:
As well as:
If you don't find a resource to fit your need, don't hesitate to consult with The Ministry Lab's director, Emily Meyer, who is happy to assist you.
Minnesota’s Department of Health’s COVID-19 Prevention Guidance for Youth and Student Programs
Confirm Not Conform: The Confirmation Program That Celebrates Questions and Choices
Now, More
|
Confirm Not Conform curriculum unabashedly centers justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion for everyone, especially BIPOC and LGBTQIA2S+ youth. The new version is designed as a universal, customizable curriculum. |
Aimed at middle grades ages (8-14), this curriculum has scaffolds and activity options for younger children and older youth. All lessons are drawn from the profiles in the Holy Troublemakers & Unconventional Saints book, which tells stories of people of diverse faiths (past and present), who have worked for more love, kindness, and justice, even when that rocked the religious boat.
Part I: “Long Live Good & Holy Trouble” - introduces the concepts of holy troublemaking through the stories of 11 holy troublemakers and unconventional saints.
Part II: “We Are Made of Stories & Stardust” focuses on the importance of the stories we tell (individually and collectively) utilizing the stories told by 11 holy troublemakers and unconventional saints to identify stories with which young people resonate.
Each curriculum has 12 lessons with dig deeper options that can easily extend to two-three additional sessions. Each lesson also has a coloring sheet with a quote that connects to the theme.
There are three versions (licenses) available based on the size of your organization:
| Part I: Personal/Family | Part II: Personal/Family |
| Part I: Church 1-100 Member | Part II: Church 1-100 Member |
| Part I: Church 100+ Members | Part II: Church 100+ Members |
After the Altar Call is a free, downloadable resource from the West Virginia Annual Conference of the UMC. It is created with a mentor/mentee relationship at its core, but can be adapted for use with one adult and a small group of confirmands.
Each session includes Scripture reading, Spiritual Practices, learning/activities, and discussion/reflection. A take-home Scripture reading guide and workbook are to be completed between sessions. The 11-week course includes one introductory week then covers the 7 themes of: Creation, Crisis, Covenant, Christ, Church, Calling, and Completion.
All-ages curriculum include:
Learn more here.
Year 3 (for ages 9-12) lessons offer:
 |
Sessions include:
|
 |
|
 |
Pair the curriculum with intergenerational/family-based hunger work: Baking Homemade Bread Becomes a Public Good The Seattle-based Community Loaves project enlists home bakers to help those facing food insecurity during the pandemic. |
Short introductory teaching videos - appropriate for 7th grade - adult - enrich the Salt & Light curriculum series and can be used for teacher prep and to introduce each weekly session. The videos are free and available online.
Follow Me: Biblical Practices for Faithful Living
Faith Questions is a PC(USA) youth curriculum that explores questions asked by real youth about important faith topics. Each unit offers connections to media resources and fun, enriching activities and comes in both print and Coffeehouse (i.e. online-friendly) versions. Sessions include:
  |
|
Spark House offers a number of interactive, engaging affirmation of baptism/confirmation curriculum, including:
Animate: Faith
Spark conversation in your faith community Learn More |
Animate: Bible
Dig deeper into the Bible and how it came to be Learn More |
Animate: Practices
Explore core faith practices |
Colaborate: Lutheran Confirmation
|
Colaborate: Methodist Confirmation
|
Colaborate: Presbyterian Confirmation
|
Empower youth to explore faith and ask questions about the Bible, the Apostles’ Creed, disciples, Jesus, and hot topics.
Learn more
Discover the backstory, key beliefs, and practices for specific Christian faith traditions, why they matter, and how they are relevant today.
Feasting on the Word is a lectionary based curriculum that allows all ages to study the same text each week. Preparatory materials equip leaders with the biblical background they need to feel confident with any age group.
Sample Sessions are available for:
The Free Guide offers tips for online use.
Clergy Stuff offers resources for Narrative and Revised Common Lectionaries, including confirmation, worship, preaching, children's stories, and VBS.
User friendly for both in-person and online faith formation.
Big God Big Questions equips students to employ the study of Scripture, tradition, and church, to tell their own story as Christian believers in the context of their local congregational experiences. Sample sessions are available here. Download the Scope and Sequence. Order the free sampler, here.
Explore the Bible in through stories and creativity: invite adults to join the discussion, bringing their expertise and experience and create the world of the story. Plants, clothing, food, architecture: wonder together about the setting of the story - then create it. Share it in worship. Act things out. Play with the historical setting - or create a whole new realm. 'Learn' Bible stories by living them!
Can we experience the infinite? The world''s most modern scientists and mathematicians embark on a search for the infinite and its amazing effects on the universe.
Poet, artist, and educator Joe Davis' Remind Me Again: Poems and Practices for Remembering Who We Are, is a collection of 41 poems that speak to our mind, body, and spirit, to our community, and to our purpose. Each poem includes a “Try This Practice” to help readers connect the themes to their everyday lives.
Remind Me Again Facilitator Guide. 41 weeks of content written by Rev. Jia Starr Brown that will facilitate meaningful discussions about Joe’s poetry guide congregations toward greater community connection. This resource is endlessly flexible and can be used as a 10-minute addition to a lesson or 41 weeks of hour-long sessions.
These resources are available for loan from The Ministry Lab.
Mark Hinds' Commissioned to Change the World Confirmation Curriculum here.
FREE Confirmation Retreat Resource: Confirmation in the Spirit, Bread for the Journey
Chuck Knows Church can be used many ways!
Why follow Jesus if you don’t believe all of scripture?
Both include helpful insights when walking youth through faith and the Bible.
Filter the News allows you to:
OnBeing's Poetry Films forum could be great as contemplative prayer prompts, worship elements or small group discussion starters.
See The MInistry Lab lib guides Racism: Tweens & Teens; and Talking about Grief & Trauma with Tweens & Teens.
It’s not your typical fare, but you might consider creating a watch group for any of these movies and working your way through with the study guides:
 |
|
 |
|
Explore intentional community and radical social justice with Seven Radical Elders.
Building Faith's Margie Baker shared these Baptismal Promises Stations - easily adaptable for different denominations and group sizes.
series includes the original children’s book, with DVD and parent guide; 75 Mindfulness Activities for Kids; and Breathe through This: Mindfulness for Parents of Teenagers
The UMC's Discipleship Ministries has resources for youth and young adults.
Find resources from the Association of United Church Educators, UCC, including webinars, curriculum, book lists, and more.
Hear from over 1,000 13-year-olds in Springtide's, Thirteen: A First Look at Gen Alpha.
What do we really know about the youngest generation of teens? In our newest report, Being 13: A First Look at Gen Alpha, young teens share their thoughts on religion, politics, and technology; their experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic; their mental health and well-being; and more.
Poet, artist, and educator Joe Davis' Remind Me Again: Poems and Practices for Remembering Who We Are, is a collection of 41 poems that speak to our mind, body, and spirit, to our community, and to our purpose. Each poem includes a “Try This Practice” to help readers connect the themes to their everyday lives.
Remind Me Again Facilitator Guide. 41 weeks of content written by Rev. Jia Starr Brown that will facilitate meaningful discussions about Joe’s poetry guide congregations toward greater community connection. This resource is endlessly flexible and can be used as a 10-minute addition to a lesson or 41 weeks of hour-long sessions.
Explore the Bible in through stories and creativity: invite adults to join the discussion, bringing their expertise and experience and create the world of the story. Plants, clothing, food, architecture: wonder together about the setting of the story - then create it. Share it in worship. Act things out. Play with the historical setting - or create a whole new realm. 'Learn' Bible stories by living them!
