Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faith Formation: Advent, Christmas & Epiphany

Resources including: Children & Family Curricula & Storytime; Confirmation/Affirmation of Baptism; Denominational Resources; Tween & Teen Mental and Spiritual Health; Sexuality & Identity; and Online/At-Home Tech

Welcome

Welcome to The Ministry Lab's curated list of Advent & Christmas Activities. Here you'll find:

  • Books to inspire at-home study, discussion, celebrations, and devotions
  • Virtual and at-home activities for all ages
  • Social Justice and Advocacy specific to the seasons

If you don't find a resource to fit your need, don't hesitate to consult with The Ministry Lab's director, Emily Meyer, who is happy to assist you.

Books & Devotionals

Advent in Plain Sight          9781506480565h          I Am Mary Advent Devotional          In Days to Come               The Living Nativity          Buy 1 Get 1 Mandalas, Candles, and Prayer               Rise Up, Shepherd!          Buy 1 Get 1 Simply Wait     A Surprising God          Traveling with our Ancestors Advent Devotional               

The Animals Speak: A Christmas Eve Legend                    God with Us: A Manna and Mercy Christmas Board Book     God's Coming to Visit!     Little Mole's Christmas Gift          Sharing Christmas by Eve Tharlet     A Simple Christmas on the Farm     Squirrel's Sweater               That Baby in the Manger     

Featured Advent Films - multiple gorgeous films of varying lengths; share with many ages in worship, study, devotional time, etc.

books about winter holidays.jpg

Study Guides & Small Group Discussions

Cover all the bases for all the ages with the MN Conference UCC's Advent 2021 Leader Toolkits: pageant, bible study, activities, children's book lists, contemplative practice, Advent wreath lighting litany, introductory video, and more!

Advent in Narnia     Behold!     Good News of Great Joy     Meeting the Messiah     Singing Mary's Song     Taste and See     The Wondrous Mystery

Connections: Year B, Volume 1: Advent through Epiphany

and other books from PC(USA)Store

YOUTH STUDIES

CHILDREN / SUNDAY SCHOOL

Spark Lectionary and Whirl Lectionary begin Advent 1.

Close to Home Theme Infographic — A Sanctified Art

Lessons for Children: Advent - Epiphany Year C by Rev Anna Strickland

Includes a short Reading (with optional additional verses), Wondering Questions, One-Sentence take-away, and Prayer for each week, Advent - Epiphany Sunday.

Multigenerational Activities

Faith Formation Ministry Advent Roundup from DWELL Curriculum and Faith Formation's Network

25 Days of Advent Family Devotional

This family faith formation activity divides the Christmas Narrative leading up to Jesus’ birth into 25 days. As Christmas day gets closer, the story of Jesus’ birth will also grow.

Download in English | Cantonese | Spanish | Bahasa Indonesia | Creole

Invite artists of all ages to illustrate your Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or First Sunday of Christmas sermon. Use one of our Illustrate Your Own rhyming verse sermons for free. (Please share appropriate credits on all platforms.)

Candle Press's Advent 2021 Downloadable resources for families to develop new traditions throughout the Advent, Christmas, & Epiphany seasons.

Cover all the bases for all the ages with the MN Conference UCC's Advent 2021 Leader Toolkits: pageant, bible study, activities, children's book lists, contemplative practice, Advent wreath lighting litany, introductory video, and more!

Building Faith's Alexis Chin wonders about, What Color Was Baby Jesus’ Hair? Representing The Christ Child Multiculturally, including numerous suggestions for exploring artwork and global expressions of Jesus and the holy family.

          Hope  

SALT Project created Advent Lighting Litanies

Book - Paperback          3D image of Families Celebrate Advent & Christmas 2021-2022     

Fun craft projects

Many of Illustrated Ministry's Advent coloring posters also come with devotionals; create an entire program around a set of posters:

     Buy 1 Get 1 Mandalas, Candles, and Prayer

The Birth of Jesus Advent Calendar unfolds to become a diorama; includes a different figure to place in the scene from December 1 to 26; re-usable.

Also see Agostino Traini's The Birth of Jesus: A Christmas Pop-Up Book!

Keeping Watch Under Pandemic Skies; includes a reading, reflection, prayer, song and an action for meditation and prayer.

Social Justice & Advocacy

Presbyterian Online Giving Catalog

     YOU GIVE A GIFT

Give a gift that represents a cause that’s close to your heart. Or make a gift in someone’s honor and choose a ministry they’d love.

     YOUR GIFT JOINS WITH OTHERS

You unite with thousands of others giving to Presbyterian ministries through the Giving Catalog, increasing your gift’s capacity to bring hope to communities around the world.

     YOU MAKE A DIFFERENCE

Your gift provides help, hope and relief to people, families and communities in need.

Building Faith's Alexis Chin wonders about, What Color Was Baby Jesus’ Hair? Representing The Christ Child Multiculturally, including numerous suggestions for exploring artwork and global expressions of Jesus and the holy family.

Advent-2021-cover.jpg

REIMAGINE ADVENT.
DISCOVER THE LIBERATING CHRIST.

Are we willing to rethink Advent and reach out to the Jesus of the refugees, the poor, and the marginalized, so that we may finally walk in the Light of Christ? Are we ready to examine this story of our faith in new ways and respond to God’s call for justice and joy, even if we are called to make significant changes in the ways we pray, love, give, speak out and act?

You will find along with the Lectionary texts for each week:

  • Suggested hymns and songs
  • A litany and opening prayer
  • Options for sermon emphases, with notes
  • A hands-on activity for children’s church or church school

Note: This is a digital product. No physical product will be shipped.

Advent Resources 2021

Explore and engage ways to end hunger during this Advent season by bringing ELCA World Hunger into your congregation and home, with resources including:

devotional calendar Study Guide Action Guide
Find daily inspiration from prayers, Scripture, hymns and information about ELCA Good Gifts in our Advent Calendar.
Deepen your engagement throughout this season of Advent with our weekly study guide, where you can find impactful, motivational stories and information about how your gifts to ELCA World Hunger are at work in the world.
Action Guide for Congregations: This guide features ideas and resources to help activate your congregation in the work to end hunger and poverty this Advent season.
Order / Download Order / Download Order / Download / View Interactive Guide

   

Make a loan, change a life.

With Kiva you can lend a small amount of money and make a big change in someone's life. It's fast and easy to get started.

ELCA World Hunger encourage addressing local, regional and global hunger.

Seasonally appropriate materials guide congregations in specific actions and provide for worship and study.

LSS of MN's Sponsor a Youth holiday gift program is for individuals, families or groups. Complete the sponsor form by Nov. 20. Find additional alternative gift ideas in their 2021 Holiday Giving Program.

Illustrated Ministry shares this list of worthy Advent & Christmas giving:

  • Rent Relief: Support The Conscious Kid’s fundraiser for #RentRelief. Donate here.
  • Native American Community Response Fund: The fund provides grants to Native American nonprofits on the ground to ensure that they are better equipped to care for their most vulnerable—relatives facing food insecurity, access to housing, and their low-income elderly. Donate here.
  • RIP Medical Debt: Every $100 donated forgives $10,000 in medical debt. Donate here.
  • Bread for the World: Give to a national or global charity working to fight hunger, or support your local food bank. You can donate to Bread for the World here. For a list of some international charities fighting hunger, click here.

Epiphany

StoryMakers has a free download of Epiphany Puppets and a lesson plan here.

Pageants

DREAMS OF A NEW DAY INTERGENERATIONAL ONLINE PAGEANT LITURGY

Includes a full script, preparatory study guide, and is a full online worship service liturgy.

Christmas Dramas

Faith Alive's numerous Christmas Dramas

Do Not Be Afraid: A Virtual Christmas Pageant          

Building Faith offers several ideas for Christmas Pageants 2020: Recorded, Zoomed, Live, Outside

9378194282_e37ab051d9_b.jpg

Katherine Willis offers two downloadable Christmas Pageants: A Mary Carol (2014; an homage to Dickens' A Christmas Carol) and Don't Freak Out (2018; contains a subtext regarding consent, along with the traditional Annunciation and Nativity stories).

Preparations for...

CONVERGENCE offers numerous leadership and community development webinars on-demand or in a cohort:

Preaching Advent: Hope. Peace. Joy. Love. and Justice

Worship Matters: Creating Liturgical Alignment (with Brian McLaren)

Books and resources to help prepare for Advent in a spirit of hope; for individual or small group study or in classrooms.

    

Do Not Be Afraid: A Virtual Christmas Pageant is centered on the narratives surrounding Jesus’ birth from the gospels of Matthew and Luke. It is like your traditional Christmas pageant but designed to be an expandable, shrinkable, pre-recordable, Zoom-able, intergenerational pageant that can be adapted to your setting, no matter what is happening in the world. Includes: 

  • A How-To Guide

  • Pageant Planning Guide

  • Script

  • Scene Cards

  • Image Backgrounds

  • Media Pack

Wired Magazine's What Should You Do about Holiday Gatherings and Covid-19? can help in family and congregational conversations - including creative alternatives.

The ELCA's First Third of Life team curated a great list of Advent, Christmas and Epiphany resources.