Access free digital resources related to Redeeming Violent Verses, including a group/individual discussion and reflection guide and suggestions for teaching violent verses to children (including notes on answering children's difficult questions) at www.wjkbooks.com/RedeemingViolentVerses.
Old & New - Revelation - Video Based Bible Study
Revelation is a wild and wooly text full of visions and beasts and dragons and fire and fear. But at its core, Revelation is a book of promise and hope. Don’t let the angrier or louder voices in our culture take the book from us. Invite folks into a conversation about how the last book of the Bible might offer a beginning for us as people of faith.
With this seven-part video-based Bible study, you’ll hear stories that invite you to see the promise of God calling from the pages of Revelation. You’ll build skills to read Scripture from its original context and in ways that resonate with our daily lives. With beautifully filmed videos and a helpful discussion guide, you’ll have everything you need to hear a word of hope in a disorienting and chaotic world.
Each video is around 15 minutes long and includes an accompanying study guide to spark reflection.
Episode 1: Revealing God’s Faithfulness (Revelation 1:1-4) - Rev. Matthew Ian Fleming
Episode 2: Apocalypse As Gift (Revelation 1:1-4; 21:1-5) - Rev. Andrea Roske-Metcalfe
Episode 3: Church: Flawed and Redeemed (Revelation 2-3) - Rev. Dr. Jia Starr Brown
Episode 4: Worship: Rhythm and Anthem (Revelation 4:9-11; 8:1; 11:15-17) - Rev. Dr. Adam White
Episode 5: Cosmos and Cities (Revelation 17-18; 21:2,15-27) - Rev. Tyler Sit
Episode 6: Hell: Beasts & 666 (Revelation 13:1-18) - Rev. Andrea Roske-Metcalfe
Episode 7: Heaven: God. Here. Now. (Revelation 21-22) - Joe Davis
Watch a trailer, learn more, and order here.
Norman C. Habel (Series Editor), Vicky Balabanski (Series Editor), Gerald West (Series Editor)
The Earth Bible Commentary series provides ecological readings of biblical texts, focusing on some of the core issues facing the world today. The writers accentuate issues in the original texts that relate specifically to the care of our global environment, and the interaction between religion and ecology. The volumes read the bible from the perspective of the Earth and consider how the Earth can be presented as sacred.
Building Faith’s Top Picks for Adult Bible Study Curriculum
AND
Building Faith's Favorite Free Christian Formation Resources (updated May, 2025)
Sharon Ely Pearson offers this Planning Adult Christian Formation Programs outline, which includes:
Yearly Study Planning Calendar
PC(USA) Store offers their complete list of Bible Study Books.
Norman C. Habel (Series Editor), Vicky Balabanski (Series Editor), Gerald West (Series Editor)
The Earth Bible Commentary series provides ecological readings of biblical texts, focusing on some of the core issues facing the world today. The writers accentuate issues in the original texts that relate specifically to the care of our global environment, and the interaction between religion and ecology. The volumes read the bible from the perspective of the Earth and consider how the Earth can be presented as sacred.
Religionless Studios was inspired by the musings of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a theologian and activist, who imagined a “Religionless Christianity” – A Christianity that captured the heart of Christ’s teachings without all of the dogma and doctrines that religion has added.
Religionless Studios hopes to continue to imagine and embody this “Religionless Christianity” by creating a progressive and liberative Bible commentary.
Every Sunday (starting October 6th), leaders on Progressive Christianity's YouTube channel will move verse by verse through the Hebrew and Christian Scriptures to interpret it through the lens of Liberation Theology.
In addition to their weekly video Bible commentary, people can gain access to Progressive Christian resources (devotionals, study guides, and digital community) through Progressive Christianity's Patreon.
They do this through their podcasts, books, classes, and online community.
Follow Riverside Church in NYC and Rev. Jim Keat, Rev. Adrienne Thorne, et. al., as they give on minute summaries of the Bible!
Learn more here.
Free Bible Images, 'wants to help those teaching the Bible in all nations of the world in this visual age. All pictures are free for use in teaching and non-commercial streaming. We provide the pictures and you tell the story, with the Bible as your reference source'.
The ELCA's Faith, Sexism, and Justice study guide
The study guide for the social statement Faith, Sexism, and Justice: A Call to Action is now available in Spanish. The guide features six flexible sessions that can be customized for in-person gatherings or virtual meetings. Each session incorporates prayers, videos, engaging activities, Scripture study and invitations to live out the call to gender justice in the world. Grounded in faith and love, we work for a gender justice that flows from the heart of Lutheran theology and cultivates abundant life for all people. Download the study guide in English or Spanish.
What’s the Difference between English Bible Translations?: A Quick Guide
Building Faith post
By Jodi Belcher (she/her/hers) on Apr 25, 2024
Faithward's Equity-Based Hospitality Study is an 11-week exploration of biblical hospitality from an equity lens, expanding on the values Rev. Liz Testa outlines in this article on equity-based hospitality. Lauralyn Vasquez developed the series, with input from the Reformed Church in America equity-based hospitality team.
Equity-based hospitality is embracing the biblical practice of welcoming both friends and strangers in generous, kind, respectful, flexible, barrier-free ways. It takes people’s needs into account so that they can find space to truly belong, live into their God-given gifts and callings, and contribute to the body of Christ in unique, strengthening ways. This practice embraces the mutual hospitality of guest and host and can be readily adapted to different contexts.
Learn more and find all 11 downloadable sessions here.
Grow Together Through Bible Study
The Restoration Bible Study features three church leaders from diverse backgrounds, contexts, and theological lenses who seek to answer the question: 'What does the Bible say about faithful restoration?' The study features 6 short videos with accompanying lesson plans which makes it easy for anyone to lead!
Watch this promo video and learn more about this study from AJ.
Three Ways Churches Can Be Hospitable in a Time of Deconstruction is a brief blog that points to the more in-depth Deconstruction Toolkit, Deconstructing Faith and Christianity: What It Is, Why It Happens, and How to Get through It, which includes lists of Faith deconstruction books, articles, and resources.
%20-%20White-2.png?width=1120&upscale=true&name=Book%20Hub%20-%20600%20x%20200px%20-%20no%20button%20(emails)%20-%20White-2.png)
The Gospel of Matthew is full of implications for how we can live (and even thrive) in the 21st century, but they may not be clear without first understanding the deeper context. Having a complete framework—from the historical and the theological to the cultural and literary—is what brings the teachings of Jesus to life.
You get:
The Bible and the English Major Podcast
The beauty in the Bible can be challenging to appreciate, and that's where I, an enthusiastic English Major, come in! Together we explore the dang good drama, bizarre ancient context, and creative artistry in the Bible.
If you're looking for a fresh take on stories you think you know or are curious about how Biblical authors used irony, symbolism, and humor to make a point, listen and follow The Bible and the English Major today!
Click your favorite podcast app to listen!
Water Is Life: Biblical Reflections
We know that Water is Life from almost every book of the Bible. Biblical scholar Diane Jacobson selected five different ways Scripture illuminates water as life and illustrates why and how the Bible encourages us to support remarkable work like that of Winona LaDuke, whose stories, lived experience, and current critical work shaped the 2022 Johnson Symposium.
Poet, artist, and educator Joe Davis' Remind Me Again: Poems and Practices for Remembering Who We Are, is a collection of 41 poems that speak to our mind, body, and spirit, to our community, and to our purpose. Each poem includes a “Try This Practice” to help readers connect the themes to their everyday lives.
Coming Soon: Remind Me Again Facilitator Guide. 41 weeks of content based on all of the poems in Remind Me Again. This content is written by Rev. Jia Starr Brown. This content will help you have meaningful discussions about Joe’s poetry as well as help guide you to connect to your own community. This content is endlessly flexible and can be used as a 10-minute addition to a lesson or 41 weeks of hour-long sessions.
How Did Jesus Approach Scripture? an excerpt from Richard Rohr's, What Do We Do with the Bible?
THIS LIVING THE KIN-DOM STUDY BY RIVA TABELISMA gives fresh eyes to the Lord's Prayer. Often learned by rote, the Lord's Prayer is a rich guide for how we can live out God's kin-dom in our lives. Tabelisma invites participants in this study to step away from our automatic recitation of the prayer and dive deep into the meaning of each line over the course of eight one-hour sessions. Each of the sessions examines a section of the Lord's Prayer from Matthew 6:9–13 as it is recorded in the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible.
Streaming/Online Videos or DVD
How We Got the New Testament
The basic question facing us as we look at the historical record is quite simple. Why does our Bible have a New Testament, comprised of only 27 books?
This course will help answer that and other questions such as:
A seven-episode video Bible study on Genesis with a written discussion guide; featuring Rev. Meta Herrick Carlson, Rev. Tyler Sit, Deacon David Rojas Martínez, Christine Belfrey, Rev. Jenny Sung, and Joe Davis.
Crystal Cheatam's Our Bible App is focused on Ditching Toxic Theology, and includes devotions and podcasts from emerging thinkers and leaders.
Made in Her Image: Exploring New Perspectives in the Bible and Christian History Facilitator Guide and Participant Resource Book
