Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faith Formation: Sunday School & Story Time

Resources including: Children & Family Curricula & Storytime; Confirmation/Affirmation of Baptism; Denominational Resources; Tween & Teen Mental and Spiritual Health; Sexuality & Identity; and Online/At-Home Tech

Welcome

Welcome to The Ministry Lab's curated list of faith formation resources for Sunday school & Storytime. Here you'll find:

  • Curricula suitable for sharing online or in person
  • Story Time Lists & Tips
  • Activity Suggestions & Resources
  • Additional Curricula Lists from judicatories, denominations and others

If you don't find a resource to fit your need, don't hesitate to consult with The Ministry Lab's director, Emily Meyer, who is happy to assist you.

Minnesota’s Department of Health’s COVID-19 Prevention Guidance for Youth and Student Programs 

Curricula

Mini Revolutions Curriculum Monthly Subscription

Mini Revolutions is an intergenerational, monthly, digital curriculum based on the Revised Common Lectionary. Churches and families will practice the rhythms and experience the seasons of the church year through the revolutions of the liturgical calendar.

  • Looking for an alternative to your traditional Sunday School curricula?
  • Would you like to have a simple but meaningful resource to send home to families? 
  • Want something that is easy for any volunteer to use? 
  • Hoping to find a resource that is adaptable for intergenerational or multi-generational use? 

Download a sample.

Check out the Mini Revolutions Curriculum Monthly Subscription here; or see their month-by-month approach here.

STB-40-Web-Cover-500.jpg

Spill the Beans designs Narrative Lectionary worship and learning resources for all ages.

Living the Word (2021-2022)     Adults    Everyone     Kids     Leaders     Youth

 

includes Dwell at HomeDwell Digital; subscription Sunday school curriculum; offers teachers/coordinators online access to all 360 lesson plans; and lesson summaries for parents (here’s an example); with additional fun ideas and a guide for adapting to online; includes dwell at home

Spans K-12; includes digital options: Shine at Home and Shine Connect (which is free!); differentiates between teachers and parents leading at-home learning. All of Us connects differently with Primary, Older Elementary, and Multi-Age. Includes:

All Together: God’s Story for You & Me     Shine at Home

All Together: God’s Story for You & Me serves as the source of the story for Elementary classes using MennoMedia's Shine! Curriculum. One new volume is produced each year, containing all the Bible stories for that year. Each week includes two versions of the Bible story—an illustrated version and a version to read together—along with God’s Story and My Story prompts that provide questions and interesting facts about the story. The God’s Story and My Story prompts help develop leadership skills as children read a question and ask it to the group.

Bake With the Bible: a Children's Curriculum (Church license)

edible theology offer bread-based and dinner church curricula for individuals, households, or congregations in a variety of age-groups. Find their full line-up here.

Follow Me: Biblical Practices for Faithful Living is a whole-congregation curriculum that studies the Bible through the lens of biblical practices.

Watch the Follow Me Overview video, visit the website, and/or download the sampler to learn more. Or, read more about each component:

The Unofficial Holy Bible for Minecrafters Box Set     The Unofficial Holy Bible for Minecrafters: Old Testament     The Unofficial Holy Bible for Minecrafters: New Testament     The Unofficial Holy Bible for Minecrafters

Godly Play

The result of a lifetime of research and practice by theologian, author and educator, Rev. Dr. Jerome Berryman, the Godly Play® method is a curriculum of spiritual practice exploring the mystery of God’s presence in our lives. The Godly Play curriculum engages what is most exciting about religious education: God inviting us into—and pursuing us in the midst of—Scripture and spiritual experience. Godly Play® practice teaches us to listen for God and to make authentic and creative responses to God’s call in our lives.

Living the Questions

Provides curricula for all ages in a variety of progressive modes and topics.

     

ProgressiveChristianity.org's  A Joyful Path (ages 6 - 10) is a behavior-over-belief curriculum that connects children with their own inner wisdom that works well in-person or online.
It teaches interdependence, self awareness, respect for nature, stillness, forgiveness, prayer, meditation, and integrity.  Using the Bible and other wisdom stories, A Joyful Path helps children learn how to follow the path of Jesus in today’s world.
Choose Year 1 or Year 2 Full Year Version - Book, PDF or DVD

Manna and Mercy: A Brief History of God's Unfolding Promise to Mend the Entire Universe     Manna and Mercy Board Book Bundle     A Place for You Bilingual Edition

Augsburg Fortress has created a full intergenerational curriculum based on Daniel Erlander's beloved book Manna and Mercy, a book about God and the continuity of God’s covenant of life, justice, and inclusion to all people and all of creation.

This curriculum includes a leader sourcebook full of lesson plans for all ages, an interactive edition of the book for kids, and four board books for young children, in addition to Erlander's original book. Now also available in a bilingual version with coloring pages, for parents to share at home or leaders to share in groups.

 

Sparkhouse Digital is customizable and accessible for teachers and parents; engaging content is available for pre-K-12.

Summer Activity Kits are available here; view a sample here.

This claymation video of "Kum Ba Yah" (video created and animated by Paavo Rundman; music arranged and performed by John Hermanson) is part of the music for SparkHouse's Whirl Classroom and Whirl All Kids curricula.

 

Michelle Gribble Story and Stretch is fantastic! Online videos make it easy to share with your group; all ages enjoy the movement together; and it is a fresh perspective on ancient stories and truths!

 

Bloom! Children’s Ministry Curriculum includes a Story Intro video and Children’s Sermon videos; follows the Narrative Lectionary with ideas for PreK-6th grade, as well as for large group and a Christmas program.

 

A suite of Grades 3-12 curriculum resources with curriculum guides, and online modules to download for free.

 

One Room Sunday School Kit, Summer 2020 is adaptable for many ages and their Adventure Summer 2020 will hook kids with their animated videos.

 

Feasting on the Word Curriculum weekly lessons appropriate for children & families, youth or adults.

 

Relationally focused; easy to adapt online; use at home or a traditional church setting. Download a sample session, see the breakdown of Bible stories by unit, and check out the fall through spring units.

And download the free, customizable
at-home kit guide for each unit found at the
bottom of the product page.

 

PC(USA) Store's Growing in Grace is appropriate for ages 3-5 or 5-10.

Candlepress

Candle Press's To Go Resources can be downloaded and used at home.

Story Time Lists & Tips

Icons representing steps to resume ministries beyond worship in fruitful ways

5 Steps to Resume Ministries beyond Worship in Fruitful Ways

Lovett Weems says that churches should be deliberate and careful in making plans to resume ministries disrupted by the pandemic. The restart of youth ministry, Christian education, mission, and other programs presents an opportunity to evaluate the effectiveness of your pre-pandemic approach, consider new options, and innovate in ways that promote fruitful outcomes.

Diverse group of Zoomer friends

“Understanding Generation Z and Connecting with Their Passions” featuring Rock Jones

What are the unique characteristics of young people coming of age today? Rock Jones, president of Ohio Wesleyan University, describes a generation of digital natives who are highly connected but also lonely and anxious; describing their life questions, the perspectives they bring to spiritual engagement, and ways church leaders can meet them where they are.

Storypath links children's books to religious themes and to both the Narrative and Revised Common Lectionaries.

cover image conversation cards for every story.jpg

God Loves Me Storybooks (Revised Edition)

God Loves Me Storybooks (Revised Edition)

The Bible in 52 Storybooks

MPR's Classical Kids Storytime:

  • Beautiful, global children's stories
  • Skilled storytellers
  • Gorgeous classical music
  • Lovely illustrations
  • Monthly!

SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL offers TACKLING COPYRIGHT CONCERNS WHEN TAKING STORYTIME ONLINE: a running annotation of publishers’ requirements.

Raising Luminaries' Books for Little

An amazing curated list of children's books that address racism, education, identity and other contemporary concerns with humor, gorgeous illustrations and wonderful story-telling.

Activity Resources

5 Ways to Celebrate With Your Family  

As followers of Jesus, we celebrate to remember and anticipate God’s abundant goodness, creativity, faithfulness, beauty, and love. This practice invites families to cultivate joy with the God who rejoices in us (Zeph. 3:17). Here are five “delight-full” ways to do so.

Splash! Pack: 3 Year Set

Connect with families of young children through Splash! monthly newsletters which help caregivers incorporate faith formation in the events of everyday lives. 

Picture of Daddy and Me     Picture of Mommy and Me

Watch for the Easer iteration of Ms. Suzy's Place; and find her other 8 videos here.

48-page quarterly issues with activities and discussion starters; based on seasons and Bible themes; pre-K- 4th grade.

Individual and bulk subscriptions available.

The MN Conference UCC teams up with Danger Boat Productions, Doing Good Together, musician Richard Bruxvoort Culligan and The Ministry Lab to offer Fall & Advent Toolkits for Families and Faith Formation Leaders.

 

Practicing small acts of kindness every day helps it become a habit.

Free downloadable activity sheets for children and adults.

has free at-home activities based on favorite books.

          

The Labyrinth Society has a page of resources specifically for children.

Book - Paperback

Other Curricula Lists

The Association of United Church Educators shares a giant list of at-home faith formation activities and ideas.

Keep up with Disciples Home Missions on their website and fb for every-day at-home faith formation ideas.

The PC(USA) Store has a huge list of resources for on-lining church (worship and study groups) and free downloadable faith formation for all ages.

At-Home Faith Formation

Dear Parent     Everyday Family Faith     Home Grown Handbook for Christian Parenting     Shaped by God