Mennonite pastor, liturgist, author, and Spacious Faith blogger, Joanna Harader, shares Worship Resources as free downloads.
Find her extensive list of offerings - organized by related Bible texts and Seasons of the Church Year - here.
Special Sundays: Liturgy, Art, & Poetry for Special Days of Worship from A Sanctified Art
You can purchase any Special Sunday Liturgy Package individually, or for a discounted rate, you can purchase the full collection of all 5 packages for: Earth Day/Creation Care, Pentecost, Pride/Imago Dei, World Communion, and All Saints Day. Each package contains full liturgy + art + a poem + a customizable graphic. You are welcome to use these Special Sundays resources anytime throughout the year. Scroll down this page & click the “Package Details” buttons to learn more about each individual package.
Note: All resources are digital files. Please purchase the tiered collection price that best fits your community’s size and budget.
THE PRAIRIE LITURGIES: PLENTY OF ROOM FOR NEW LITURGIES
Written By Meta Herrick Carlson
Photo by Joseph Barrientos on Unsplash
Here’s a word about each setting:
Peace of the Prairie: A Liturgy for Here and Now
Shalom Hill Farm’s signature liturgy. This place-specific setting imagines worship participants coming into the space from the tasks and pressures of modern life, centers our spiritual connection to the prairie, and honors the invitation to be present here and now.
Shalom Daily Prayers
These prayers follow the liturgical structure of the Liturgy of the House and feature two canticles, Hannah and a new Magnificat. The ancient Phos Hilaron text, paraphrased here as “Light of All Splendor,” is set to the familiar tune “Be Thou My Vision” (SLANE).
Feast of Shalom: A Setting of Holy Communion
The contemporary texts of the Kyrie, Gloria and Sanctus offer fresh expressions of these ancient texts that include images of God inspired by three Abrahamic faith traditions. The Prairie Preface is filled with prairie and farming imagery.
The Way of the Manger: An Advent Liturgy
This liturgy is short and sweet (20 minutes), created for use with sheep and chickens in the Bethlehem Barn at Shalom Hill Farm. The liturgy includes an Advent candle lighting litany and original music as well as two new texts set to familiar carols. The rhythm of the reading and prayers reflect the trimesters of Mary’s pregnancy.
Do This: Communion for Just and Courageous Living is a starting point for (re)engaging the life-shaping themes of Communion:
With new reflections and prayers, original hymns and liturgies, Do This brings deep wonder to the order of Communion.
Our Great God Gun: This gun-obsessed society is a disgrace
Rev. Dr. Susan Thistlethwaite, President Emeritus of Chicago Theological Seminary adapted Isaac 58 to use as a confession/forgiveness/change liturgical element, to be used, 'until the guns fall silent'.
“A Feminist Apostles’ Creed” by Sarah Moon in “Liberating Liturgies: A Creed and a Call” at Patheos website (Sept. 17, 2014)
A new lectionary that centers women
“If the gospel isn’t good news to the women in the passage, is it still good news?”
Grace Ji-Sun Kim interviews Wil Gafney
February 15, 2022
Paper Bag Cathedrals creates worship resources specifically for the challenges and advantages of small congregations.
This Is the Day: Liturgy for Love and Justice. Formation for Faith and Renewal offers Inspired: A 7-Week Womanist Worship Series.
Find Prompts for Prayers of Intercession: brief weekly online suggestions for national and world events and concerns that prayer writers might consider as they prepare for worship posted on the ELCA's Worship Blog.
The Iona Community offers these seasonal liturgical resources and a slough of other downloadable liturgical elements.
Offers weekly liturgical prompts, Worship in the Home and Frequently Asked Questions, including How Is Lament included in Worship?
Cole Arthur Riley is the Black Liturgist. Find her poems, liturgies, prayers and other writings on her website and follow her on instagram.
Progressive Christianity offers an extensive online Service and Gathering Planning resource library, searchable by topic and element of worship.
Find Benedictions from around the country here.
The Plural Guild creates unique liturgies and music specific to the times and contexts in which we live.
enfleshed develops general-purpose, anti-racism and COVID-19 related liturgical elements.
The Promise & the Practice offers a collection of worship materials by UU religious professionals of color.
A Sanctified Art provides liturgical elements informed by and incorporating progressive theology, expansive imagery, and beautiful and diverse forms of art to encourage engagement in worship.
Their Summer 2021 liturgy I've Been Meaning to Ask is here! Find sample links for:
Bundled resources include:
| Study journal | Branding bundle |
| Sermon planning guide | Poetry prayers |
| Words for worship | A special liturgy with holy communion |
| Conversation cards | Video vignettes |
| 8 New visuals with artist statements | A listening guide |
Free materials released to supplement the bundle
Engage the whole congregation in learning the 'whys' of a Land Acknowledgement - and let the Littles lead. Written by Minnesota author Ashley Fairbanks (Anishinaabe, White Earth), This Land introduces the idea of appreciating one's place on the land by appreciating the land's history, inviting readers to wonder - and discover - who lived on the land where they live, before they lived here. It's beautiful and profound and encourages wonder and exploration to learn the truths of colonizer and settler history, current realities of land ownership, and the current lived realities of Indigenous communities, as it invites us all to appreciate the lands we inhabit.
Introduce the book and gain essential background and insight from Sam Stroozas' MPR interview with Ashley Fairbanks. Listen or read the transcript here.
As we are embraced by God's reconciling love in worship, we are equipped to carry that reconciling love into our relationships beyond the worship space. Worship equips us for the work of conciliation, but the liturgy itself needs to be decolonized if it is to truly honor Christian commitments to God and neighbor. This book explores the reformed liturgy in its pattern of Gathering, Word, Table, and Sending, searching it both for colonial vestiges, and spaces of new possibility. Unsettling Worship invites the reader into a conversation about reformed worship in a setting of ongoing colonization. Worship should both unsettle us, and equip us for the essential work of making things right with Indigenous neighbors.
Doing the Deeply Spiritual Work of Land Acknowledgment
Tracy Kugler, a member of St. Paul's UCC in St. Paul, MN
~includes a strong list of resources for congregational or personal learning
A Guide to Indigenous Land Acknowledgment was compiled in conversation with a group of Minnesota Indigenous leaders.
Subscribe to the ELCA Worship Blog for weekly prompts for crafting local Prayers of Intercession. The post, Resources for Crafting the Prayers of Intercession, and FAQ, How Do We Craft Prayers of Intercession? will help leaders prepare weekly local prayers.
In many churches, laypersons prepare the prayers of intercession. In this down-to-earth handbook, Ramshaw proposes seven steps, from Monday through Sunday, to assist in crafting the prayers of the faithful.
A prayer, posted August 9, 2021 by Maren, to share any time: Prayers for the Heating Earth
A collated Interfaith Prayer for Peace; adding pieces from other world religions or individuals - especially publicly/currently demonized groups - might add to its power.
![Picture of At the Still Point - eBook [ePub]](https://cdn.cokesbury.com/images/products/ExtraLarge/857/9781557257857.jpg)
