Welcome to The Ministry Lab's curated list of resources for Talking with Children about Racism and White Supremacy. Here you'll find:
If you don't find a resource to fit your need, don't hesitate to consult with The Ministry Lab's director, Emily Meyer, who is happy to assist you.
Addresses issues children might hear about in the news and may not understand; straightforward and kid-friendly explanations of tough topics; includes ideas for what they can do to help make the world a better, fairer place. Each book has a glossary and additional resources.
The series includes: Culture and Diversity; Rights and Equality; Protecting the Planet; and Rules and Responsibilities.
Social Justice Books curates a growing list of recommended titles that center each of the Black Lives Matter 13 Guiding Principles, as well as additional recommended booklists.
The featured theme of this year's Week of Action is the guiding principle of Collective Value, which states:
We are guided by the fact that all Black lives, regardless of sex assigned at birth, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, economic status, ability, disability, education, location, age, immigration status, religious beliefs or disbeliefs, matter. None of us are free until we are all free.
|
|
New York Public Library created the regularly-updated Schomburg's Black Liberation List for Young Readers: Explore essential titles selected by the Schomburg Center as it marks 95 years of collecting and preserving Black history, arts, and culture. Available on SimplyE and from the Schomburg Shop.
Building Faith's Picture Books for Antiracists provides an overview for:
Celebrate Diversity in Children's Books
We are each called to lead change and fight for justice. This important work starts in our homes and immediate community. Here are picture books that can serve as helpful tools for sparking conversations with kids.
The MN Annual Conference UMC's Rev. Dana Neuhauser offers this list of Books That Can Build Empathy for BIPOC Communities.
The PC(USA) Store created a list of their Antiracism books for all ages.
13 Books about Race and Diversity from PBS Kids for Parents is fantastic.
Children’s Books that Tackle Race and Ethnicity, from the New York Times
MN Annual Conference UMC curated this list.
PC(USA) Store has an excellent list of resources for all ages
Social Justice Books: A Teaching for Change Project offers 60 extensive lists of multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults and educators. They also offer a Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books.
Beaming Books offers 10 Books That Celebrate Our Many Differences which includes topics such as ableism, age, race, culture and ethnicity, and gender and sexuality identities.
A Bibliography on Prejudice, Tolerance and Diversity from Storypath
Mattress Advisor's Bedtime Stories in response to We Need Diverse Books (a nonprofit working for more diversity in children's books): The list is available in full or broken into these categories:
How to Raise Kids Who Won't Be Racist from The New York Times
White Kids Need to Read Black Stories Too by Casira Copes on BLK INK
How to Talk to Kids about Race from The Atlantic
Talking about Race and Racism with Kids from Christine V. Hides
NPR & Sesame Street: Talking Race With Young Children (Podcast Episode)
offers “stories and advice on raising kind, caring and resilient children”, which includes tips on “how to talk honestly with children about racism”, book recommendations about race and diversity and questions to discover your child’s thoughts. Many resources are broken into specific age brackets and include links to PBS videos that support the conversation.
The Conversation We Must Have with Our White Children from On-Being
How to Talk with Kids about Racial Injustice
It can be difficult to talk with kids about the racial injustice in our country. Ty Chapman, author of Sarah Rising, shares his experience of growing up Black in Minnesota and offers tips on how kids can work toward ending racism in their communities.
Embrace Race offers a number of resources:
Honor God’s Diversity - God calls us to honor diversity that God has created in our world by diving deep beyond just accepting diversity. When we recognize and celebrate the different gifts, abilities, and voices in all creation, we honor the diversity in the world God has created.
With age-specific and intergenerational/full congregation curriculum available (click here and scroll down).
What Is Critical Race Theory and What Christians Should Know
includes:
Talking About Privilege and Justice With Kids: Let’s Talk about Privilege (three topics for 1st-5th Graders) & Homegrown Faith and Justice (four lessons for 1st-5th Graders) - Christian Reformed Church in North America
Who Is My Neighbor? - MennoMedia’s 2019 VBS curriculum:
The conversation parents of color have with their children about interactions with police.
offers “stories and advice on raising kind, caring and resilient children”, which includes tips on “how to talk honestly with children about racism”, book recommendations about race and diversity and questions to discover your child’s thoughts. Many resources are broken into specific age brackets and include links to PBS videos that support the conversation.
An online Discussion and Activity Guide is available with For Beautiful Black Boys.
