Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the ATLA Religion Database: Home

This guide gives you some basic instructions for using the ATLA Religion Database

Using the ATLA Religion Database

The ATLA Religion Database is one of the best places to search for articles on all aspects of religion and theology.  While historically the database has skewed towards Christian sources, more recently the database covers a broader set of religious and theological perspectives.  

 

Here is a link to the database: ATLA Religion Database

 

 

How to Get to the ATLA Religion Database

Searching the ATLA Religion Database

Using the Scripture Search Tool in ATLA

Using ATLA Citation Tools

Dr.

More Information about the ATLA Religion Database

The Atla Religion Database® is a premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.

More than 3 million citation records, including: 

* 2,400+ journal titles in total, 1,100+ of which are currently being indexed

* 1.2 million+ journal article records

* 280,000+ essay records

* 1 million+ review records

* 449,000+ book records

Bibliographic records of scholarship representing major religions, faiths, denominations, and languages

Coverage Areas: Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, philosophy, and ethics

For more information: https://www.atla.com/research-tool/atla-religion-database/